Confessions and Lent

I keep going through these breaks from blogging. And if I’m honest they occur for three reasons:

1. I’m afraid I won’t have anything of importance to say

2. I want to impress you (all two of you) and so I let my pride get in the way

3. I’m lazy…and besides it’s too dangerous to just let people know what’s going on in my head

So what has motivated me to get back at it?

Lent.

Lent is from February 17th – April 3rd. It’s a time to prepare ones heart for the celebration of Easter. This time is often marked by fasting and sacrificing some luxury for the purpose of focusing on Christs’ sacrifice.

I’ve never celebrated Lent before but this year I am going to.

Time for some more confessions: I’ve been struggling with being disciplined spiritually. I haven’t been in the Word like I should be. And my prayers have been thoughtless.

I’m using this time of Lent to get back on track. To refocus my heart and my mind.

And a part of that process will be this blog. I will be writing about what I’m learning and what I’m struggling with.

I’m getting back to transparency…to real community.

2 thoughts on “Confessions and Lent

  1. Funny thing…I came really close to commenting on your blog yesterday to pester you to write again…but God works in His own ways in His own time. 🙂

    I appreciate this…the honesty…the realization of your brokenness…definitely praying for you with this, sis…tomorrow begins a new season. 😉 I pray that He will use this time to draw you so much closer to Himself than ever before, and reveal His truths in a refreshing way and stirs and ignites that passionate heart of yours again.

Leave a comment