Ash Wednesday

Today was Day 1 of the Lent season…Day 1 of the ‘new me’…and frankly I don’t feel any different. Probably because I didn’t really do much to change the way my life usually is. I guess today was more of processing what this season will look like for me.

For starters, I’ve decided to give up coffee for Lent. For those of you who know me…you know this is huge. I think this will help drastically with disciplining myself. No coffee will force me to get enough rest and really take care of myself.

Secondly, I am going on refugee weekend this weekend. It’s a weekend in which I will enter a simulation and get a glimpse at what it looks like to be a refugee. Due to the nature of the class, I won’t be able to share details about the weekend. However, I think it’s appropriate that this weekend is happening during the Lent season. On a very small scale my eyes will be opened to what it means to share in the sufferings of Christ….to share in the sufferings of my brothers and sisters.

This season, for me, will be one of brokenness and refining.

One thought on “Ash Wednesday

Leave a Reply

