My Echo

My desire for control will kill me if I don’t let go.

(Way to start a blog post, uh?)

I tried to think of a better way to say that but I it felt good to just write it in it’s rawest form.

Here’s something you need to know about me: I love helping people. I love being a listening ear. And I find myself with this odd desire to fix things.

In way my motto has been, ‘Love people and fix the situation.’

Sounds good, right?

It’s not.

It’s my need for control masked in a smiling face or, worse yet, masked with spirituality.

My best friend has this canny way of calling me out and challenging me. Recently she said, ‘Bri, you have to let go.’

I was speechless. What she said didn’t just relate to our conversation but to a way of life for me.

I had been carrying around loads of anxiety about various situations all because I wanted control.

‘Bri, you have to let go.’

Tears welled up in my eyes because I knew she was right. The Lord used her words to pierce my soul and bring me to immediate repentance.

God wanted me. He wanted my prayers. He wanted my trust.

I got distracted and somehow thought I could do something, anything. It’s a silly thought really.

But letting go has helped me breathe again.

I have a new motto now…’Love people.’

 

Leave a Reply

