Freshly Brewed Coffee

Yesterday was my 26th birthday. It was a weird day for me. Weird in a good way.

I had an overwhelming sense all day that this was the beginning of something new; that I was on the horizon of some of my greatest days.

This past year was, by far, the hardest year of my life. I haven’t opened up to too many about the details of the events that occurred except to say that I cried a lot and had plenty of sleepless nights.

But every morning, I got up, made some coffee, and pressed forward.

Reluctantly, most days, but I got up.

And the thought that got me out of bed every morning was this: ‘ This is not about you.’

Birthdays have a tricky way of making you think that everything is about you for a day.

It’s not.

This morning I woke up to the smell of freshly brewed coffee right next to my bed. My best friend bought me a coffee machine for my birthday and I programmed it to start brewing at 6:30 this morning.

I woke up, opened my blinds, turned on The Office, poured myself a cup of coffee, and got back into bed to enjoy a slow start to my day.

And I reminded myself, ‘This is not about you.’

 

One thought on “Freshly Brewed Coffee

  1. I love you so much, and I I am so proud of you, you have begun the next phase of your life enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

