EG Feature: Alisha Lee

My name is Alisha Lee. I’m 28 years old and am just one precious year away from being a psychologist. I am a chronic friend-maker, swinger (the kind that goes to the park), and empathizer.

Sometimes God and I don’t get along. My fault. Not His. Mostly we argue about the shades of grey. Some of those grey areas deeply impact my life. And after wrestling with some big questions for a very long time, I still feel like I don’t have any answers, and that bothers me. a lot. Knowledge is important to me. I’m pursuing a PhD for crying out loud. I clearly like having the answers. However, one thing I have learned is that God doesn’t give a damn about my high need for cognitive closure. That’s really hard for me.
So I get stuck. I pout. I give God the silent treatment, because (cue whiney teenage voice), “This isn’t fair!” But when I take a moment to stop feeling sorry for myself, I can think more clearly, and one conclusion always remains: Whether or not I disagree with God’s plan for me, I’ll never be able to disagree with the fact that He has my best interest in mind. And I pray that one day I’ll be able to say, and truly mean, “That’s enough for me.”

Leave a Reply

