Being Perfect Will Kill You

“That’s why I am big on the church not being a place where the perception is perfection, but rather a place where it’s okay not to be okay. Now, it’s not okay to stay not okay, but I believe that church should be a place where people can admit they’re struggling with issues in their lives without fear of being thrown out or becoming the focus of the rumor mill.’

This is a quote from Perry Noble’s new book, Overwhelmed. As I read the book, I couldn’t help but think of this song by my girl, Jessie J.

Honestly, as I read the book, I started to get bored. My recurring thought was, ‘I already know this’ and ‘Of course, I don’t have to be perfect.’

But then I realized how necessary this book is…how needed this book is.

You see, I know I don’t have to be perfect because of the spiritual leaders in my life who remind me that I don’t have to be. I know I don’t have to be perfect because my parents still love me despite the stress I’ve caused them in the past. I know I don’t have to be perfect because I have a best friend who knows me better than anyone and she’s still my friend.

I have living examples and because of that I forget how spoiled I am.

Noble is transparent and honest about his own struggle with depression and he is a pastor of a pretty large church.

He has a lot to lose by sharing his story but risks it to share, what I believe is, a life changing message for many.

In a recent tweet Noble said,

 “The theme song of hell is entitled, “Do More, Try Harder!”

Jesus said, “It Is Finished!”

Amen somebody?!

Overwhelmed will be released on April 1st and you can pre order it here.

Leave a Reply

