Stop Being Ugly

Jealousy: an unhappy or angry feeling of wanting to have what someone else has

Envy: the feeling of wanting to have what someone else has

These two expressions of emotion infuriate me to no end.

I cannot put into words how angry it makes me when I see people acting out of jealousy and/or envy.

Namely because I’ve had my own struggles with it and I know where I ended up.

Let me explain.

When I was a kid, I was strangely attracted to those in ministry. As a kid, I was attracted to their popularity and reputation. And as I got older, I was attracted to the anointing on their lives and the, seemingly, closeness they had to God.

I wanted that.

But I didn’t want to work for it. I just thought it would come.

I longed for it.

But then something clicked.

I was so focused on them that I wasn’t doing anything to grow myself.

So I started reading my Bible more, I started praying more, I started dabbling in the discipline of fasting, and the list goes on.

And you know what happened?

I got so consumed with following God’s plan for MY life that I didn’t have time to chase after God’s plan for THEIR life.

And do you want to know something else I learned?

The anointing costs you something.

I have struggled with two seasons of depression in my life.

I dealt with the death of four family members in a period of four months.

I flunked out of a semester of college.

I feel lonely more times than not.

I struggle with insecurity.

And I could go on for days….

So what’s my point?

Frankly, jealousy and envy are just really ugly. And they’re annoying because you don’t know the story behind the prize you are drooling for.

Stay in your lane.

Invest in your calling.

And be careful what you ask for because the ride will be bumpy.

Leave a Reply

