The Idol of Friendship

We all have a desire to be known and to be liked. And that’s really tricky, why?

Because if we’re honest with ourselves, we aren’t really likeable.

Before you get defensive, think really hard about you. About your every heart intention. About your real motive for doing things.

We, as humans, are inherently evil. And we all come with a lot of baggage, it’s just that some of us hide it better than others.

So for the sake of being ‘known’, we empty our bags, hoping they’ll be a bit lighter, and look for someone to ‘like’ the porcelian impersonator we’ve created.

That’s why we love social media.

We don’t really want to be known, we just want people to ‘like’ us.

So we skip through silicon valley holding hands with our ‘bestie’ and hope for the best.

And it always, always, always, ends in our returning to our rooms, alone.

See, we aren’t really known. We are liked…for being fake.

And so we play the game by day and weep at night.

May I suggest an alternative approach?

Be you.

I know that’s easier said than done but hear me out. Throughout middle school, high school, and most of college, I fell in love with the porcelain impersonator I had created. I was a people pleaser and wanted everyone to like me.

But that became incredibly exhausting and I found myself crying out to the Lord for help, maybe a new personality or a prettier face or lighter skin color would help. But then He said three words that have forever been engrained in my soul:

You are mine.

When I understand that I am a child of the Most High God, I don’t have to pretend anymore. I don’t have to chase friends. I don’t have to care what people think about me. I learn to embrace the people who really know me, the good, the bad, and the ugly.

I am content.

I am His.

Leave a Reply

