REPOST: On Being Right

A few weeks ago, this thought popped into my head:

‘I love Jesus more than I love being right.’

It came to me as I was walking around cleaning up my apartment and I didn’t really know what I meant by it so I’ve been thinking through it.

I think it comes from my three favorite words: ‘I don’t know…’

Sometimes I think Christians are too certain about everything.

Hear my out on this. I believe the Word of God is inerrant and infallible. I believe everything the Bible  says is true.

But if I’m questioned on that or any of my personal convictions, I’m not gonna fight with you.

Jesus didn’t have arguments, he proclaimed truth, told a few stories and kept on keeping on.

If I say I love Jesus, I want people to see that in how I live. I want people to see that in how I disagree. And I want people to see that in how I communicate truth.

If I’m focused on being right rather than on being like Jesus, there’s no point to this Christian thing.

Leave a Reply

