More. Part 2

Yesterday, I said that this is the most exciting time to work with young adults.

And here is why…

I have something to offer them in their desire for more.

His name is Jesus.

Not Christianity, not a specific church, not a set of rules.

The person of Jesus Christ.

Rachel Held Evans in her recent article on the CNN Belief Blog says it well:

We want to be challenged to live lives of holiness, not only when it comes to sex, but also when it comes to living simply, caring for the poor and oppressed, pursuing reconciliation, engaging in creation care and becoming peacemakers.

You canโ€™t hand us a latte and then go about business as usual and expect us to stick around. Weโ€™re not leaving the church because we donโ€™t find the cool factor there; weโ€™re leaving the church because we donโ€™t find Jesus there.

Like every generation before ours and every generation after, deep down, we long for Jesus.

 

This brings tears to my eyes because so many people don’t see Jesus when they come to our churches. They see rules, regulations, and restrictions.

That is not why Jesus died!

And please don’t read into this post or say something I’m not trying to say.

I love the church and I am a follower of Jesus.

I’m crazy about Jesus, actually, and I love the Word of God.

And in light of all of that, I know how messed up I am. I know that He is a God of grace. I’ve seen His grace in my life.

So my response to that grace is,

‘Please just come to Jesus as you are. You don’t have to fix anything. Jesus wants you…male or female, black or white, gay or straight, Republican or Democrat, Baptist or Pentecostal, rich or poor….Jesus wants you.’

Jesus offers hope.

Jesus offers purpose.

Jesus offers more.

 

2 thoughts on “More. Part 2

Leave a Reply

