When My Shoulders Get Tight

If you were to ask me what my passion in ministry is, I would say discipleship.

I work at a Christian university where the main part of my job is to disciple women.

And I’m on staff at a church where my primary focus is discipleship development.

Yet I often times doubt my ability to disciple well. It is a forever nagging voice in my head.

I’m extremely empathic and try to love people with 100% of who I am. That means I get hurt a lot. And I get that tightness in my shoulders and chest caused from stress over those I have the privilege of discipling.

Discipling, for me, is a heart thing. It’s born out of who I am.

So I’ve had to learn how to deal with that nagging voice that says, ‘I’m not good enough.’

I breathe, pray, text my mentors and best friend, and allow truth to wash over me.

Truth sets me free.

Leave a Reply

