A Church of Learners

I had the privilege to be a part of a week of workshops for my church, A House of Prayer in Xenia, Ohio. As the Minister of Discipleship Development, I get to lead workshops, organize new believer’s classes, and collect resources to better equip our staff to serve.

During the workshops, I said something during training that I firmly believe and want to flush out here.

‘The church has gotten lazy when it comes to educating ourselves although , I believe, we should be the most educated in society.’

I’m not so sure I said it that eloquently at the moment but you get my point.

The Body of Christ should be not only the most educated but also the most thirsty for knowledge. We should be reading, writing, and engaging with culture.

I think our fear of ‘becoming like the world’ cripples us at times but that can’t serve as an excuse. We should strive to be excellent in every aspect of life.

We cannot be lazy as followers of Jesus Christ!

 

Leave a Reply

