Entertaining the Fear of Man

Can I be honest?

The past few weeks just haven’t been my weeks. I’ve been running on very little sleep and feeling super discouraged.

I found myself trying to retreat to a depression but retreating to worship instead. It was those sweet times with the Lord that allowed me to function.

And looking back, I’ve realized what fueled my anxiety and discouragement…the fear of man.

I was nervous about what people would think of me if I did or didn’t do a certain thing.

I felt like a walking billboard and if anything was misspelled, I’d be thrown away.

I felt hopeless and that I was constantly falling short of people’s expectations.

But in those times of worship, I was bombarded with TRUTH.

I was discussing Matthew 3 and 4 with one of my RA’s today and this verse stood out to me again:

‘For this is he who was spoken of by the prophet Isaiah when he said,  ‘The voice of one crying in the wilderness; ‘Prepare the way of the Lord; make his paths straight.’ Matt. 3:3

That’s all I want to do…make His paths straight.

As soon as I became obsessed with His glory, nothing else mattered.

I’m no longer entertaining the fear of man, He is enough.

Leave a Reply

