Morning Rituals

I recently listened to a podcast by Michael Hyatt on being more productivity, especially in the morning.

I’ve written on the blog before about desiring to be more productive and getting up early to do that.

And I haven’t totally failed at the getting up early part but I have failed at the being productive in the morning part.

This thing requires discipline.

I knew that but I have to do more than listen to a few podcasts and read a few blog posts on this topic.

So here’s my new morning ritual and the steps I’m taking to make sure this happens:

6:30am – Wake up and make coffee

(My alarm clock is now across the room and I have to get up to turn it off)

7am – Get in the Word

(Having coffee helps me focus for this)

7:30am – Prayer/Time in worship

(I use a prayer journal)

8am – Journal

(I use the iJournaler app on my iPad)

8:15am – Workout

(I have the Nike training app, so I don’t have to brave the cold to get to the gym)

9am – Shower and get ready for the day

 

I’ll keep you updated on how I do.

What about you? Do you have any morning rituals?

 

One thought on “Morning Rituals

  1. Bri, I really like your morning routine! You begin by feeling your body and your soul. Exercise and Jesus time are great ways to feel alive! Live-giving, no?

    Personally, I’m at work by 7:30am, so exercise happens at the end of the day and Jesus time happens morning, noon, or night. I need a better routine, for sure.

    Check out Laura Vanderkam’s book “What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast.” (http://lauravanderkam.com/books/successful-people-breakfast/) I’m pretty sure there’s an ebook version. I haven’t read the book, but I follow her blog and she is a great encouragement in time management, and using the mornings wisely.

Leave a Reply

