Respect and Honor

Growing up, I was taught to say ‘Yes, ma’am’ and ‘Yes, sir’ to my elders.

I had a reverence for my parents that sometimes led to a healthy fear.

I grew up in a church where the Pastor was treated with a sense of honor.

But in today’s society when I do that stuff, I hear things like this:

‘ Just call me Jack’

‘ I’m a guy just like you’

‘ I want to be my daughter’s friend’

I don’t think there’s anything inherently wrong with the statements above.

But I wonder if my generation has lost it’s sense of honor and respect. I get that people want to be more relaxed to be more relatable and I respect that. I just wonder if we should set the bar higher.

I’m not saying I should idolize my elders, my parents, or my Pastor but I treat them with a sense of honor and respect. Many of my friend’s parents have asked me to call them by their first name…I can’t do it. Instead I call them, Mama (insert last name) or Papa (insert last name). I, and many others in my church, refer to my Pastor as ‘Pastor’ including his own children. When I’m home, I may be 24 but I’m just ‘their oldest daughter’ to my parents and I step into that role.

What are your thoughts? Am I making this into a bigger issue than I need to be?

Leave a Reply

