Life Mission Statement

I’m writing this post from the air. I’m headed home for my cousin’s wedding. It’s amazing what technology can do these days.

This week on the blog, I’m talking about productivity and how I plan on managing all that’s on my plate. I hope that as I give you some insight on some practical steps I’m taking it will, in turn, cause you to think through how you can be more productive.

One of my fears with desiring to be more productive is motive. I never want it to be about making me look good or defined by the world’s definition of success. And so I decided I need a life mission statement to help me stay focused. This statement will refocus me when I want to be on Facebook rather than working. Or when I have to do some of the mundane activities of my day. This statement will cause me to focus on something more than myself. This statement gives me focus.

Here’s my life mission statement:

To bring glory to God by letting everyone around me know that they are loved and cared for.

It may not seem very practical to some of you but that statement is all I need to get to work. For example, I have to do room checks in my dorm every week. It is definitely not the favorite part of my job. But if I want my dorm to know that they are loved and cared for and in doing so bring glory to God, I’m going to do it and do it well.

What does that look like for me? As I go through the dorm, I pray over each student. What was once a mundane activity every Monday at 10am, is now one of my favorite times of the week because of my mission statement.

What about you? Why were you created? What’s your life’s mission statement?

Leave a Reply

