The Road to Productivity

I have always been against self help books. I have had well meaning friends give me books with titles like 5 Easy Steps to Being An Effective Leader or 7 Ways To A Better Life and they just don’t vibe with me.

But I love reading blog posts or listening to podcasts by people like Donald Miller, Dave Ramsey, Michael Hyatt, Steven Furtick, etc.

I updated my iPad and one of the new free apps is iBooks. I decided to check out the book catalog and click on the books for $2.99 or less tab. I found a book entitled What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast by Laura Vanderkam. I bought it because it was intriguing and read it in one day.

86 pages of pure inspiration.

I listen to a podcast every morning and the other day I was listening to Dave Ramsey’s EntreLeadership podcast and he was talking about time management. There was also an interview with Peter Bregman. Bregman wrote a book entitled 18 Minutes: Find Your Focus, Master Distraction, and Get the Right Things Done. Honestly, I’ll probably never read his book but I found the discussion fascinating especially in light of reading Vanderkam’s book.

This year, I’m pretty busy. And if I’m not careful, I’ll start to slack off or get overwhelmed. I’m not the only person in the world who feels like I have a million things on my plate. I know that’s not a new revelation to most of you but I find it extremely comforting. And I’ve discovered that the most productive people in the world don’t waste time.

So here are a few steps to this new road of productivity for me:

1) Changed my office hours at work so that I can use my mornings to jump start my day

2) Made a list of my priorities for the year

3) Made a plan to accomplish those priorities

4) Ditched cable (I don’t watch it enough and Hulu/Netflix will suffice)

5) Developing a life mission statement

I’ll process through each of those throughout the week on the blog.

How do you stay productive?

One thought on “The Road to Productivity

Leave a Reply

