Being Afraid to Vote for Obama

I hate election seasons especially as a Christian.

The message communicated to me, more times than not, is that if I don’t vote for the Republican, conservative candidate my faith is questionable. Voting for ‘the other guy’ means I support gay marriage and abortion, which are the two issues we like to harp on.

As a black female, I’m probably going to vote for Obama because he’s black and not care to make an informed voting decision. (people have said this to my face)

For some reason, the Church goes crazy around this time of year. My Facebook and Twitter have been lit up with hatred and slander for both of the presidential candidates.

Last night, I missed First Lady Obama’s speech but kept reading great things about it. I found a link of her transcript, read it, and was moved to tears by it. Her speech resonated with me and I wanted to share that. It took me 10 minutes to muster of the courage to say anything positive about the Obama’s because a lot of ‘Obama haters’ follow me. I posted it but had to leave a comment asking people not to post anything hateful.

I’m a registered independent and I don’t know who I’m voting for yet. But I honestly don’t care who wins. I’m going to be okay because Jesus is still seated on the throne and He cannot be removed.

How about you? Do you think the Church deals with politics well?

4 thoughts on “Being Afraid to Vote for Obama

  1. Well expressed Bri!! It’s so refreshing to know the really important things in life begin with God, family and real friends 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing your thoughts! As a former student at the same university you attended, I was pulled aside by a complete stranger who wanted to ask me how I could possibly vote for “a baby killer.” I had never talked to her, nor did I make it public that I voted for President Obama. A close friend once told me over dinner that “the only reason I agreed to come to dinner with you today is because I want to know how you could possibly be Christian and vote for a Democrat.” Regardless of who I vote for, that person is not going to solve all the problems in this world. There is one redeemer, and this redeemer is hard at work even though it’s very hard to believe so sometimes.

Leave a Reply

