Journaling

I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with journaling. The proof of that is in my 3 incomplete Moleskine journals. I think journaling is important because it gives me a place to empty my thoughts and process through life and in turn, be a better leader.

So here are some things I thought would help me:

– Get a sleek looking journal (Moleskine, Ecosystem, etc.)

– Journal at night to empty my thoughts from the day

– Use my favorite pen

All of the above things failed miserably after about a week. Here is my main issue, I am always thinking and processing something but I’m often to lazy or don’t have to write it down legibly. You should see some of my journal posts, I can’t even read them. But I can’t shake that journaling is an important practice. So here’s what I’ve been doing and it has worked well:

– I use iJournaler on my iPad: I prefer typing over handwriting anything. This app allows me to upload my post to Dropbox and even email them to myself.

– I journal in the morning instead of the evening. Typically, by the time evening rolls around, I’m ready for bed. When I journal in the morning, I can rehash events that happen today before and focus my heart for a new day.

– I don’t pressure myself into journaling every day. Some days I need to journal to process, other days I need to open up EverNote and write a few ideas that came to mind.

Do you journal? What methods/apps/notebooks have you found useful?

5 thoughts on “Journaling

  1. My journals in the past would have huge chunks of time in between entries, weeks, months, even a year at times… and even now my journals can turn into scattered thoughts and incomplete sentences, or notes on what I want to journal later… To me it’s always easier to talk about my day or my thoughts, maybe an audio journal! Or a journal written like a letter to a close friend or God… Just a thought!

  2. I do enjoy journaling, but it is a discipline. It’s the best way for me to coherently process. I found that I write most consistently in a hardback, spiral bound notebook, that doesn’t have perforated pages. I have given up feeling bad when I don’t journal consistently. 🙂

    I use the pages from the front for journaling, but have A LOT of lists/ideas going in the back. I figure when the two intersect, I’ll start a new one.

  3. I journal on my computer, mainly because I can type faster than I can write. When I write, my mind ends up two sentences ahead of my hand and I forget what I was going to say. I journal mainly when something awesome happened or I’m feeling stressed and need to figure out why I feel the way I do. Plus, if it ends up somewhat intelligent sounding, it can end up on my blog… 😉

Leave a Reply

