Don’t Be Stupid

My friend, Danny Kim, asked me to write a post on leadership on his blog yesterday and I wanted to repost here.  Also, do yourself a favor and check out his blog.

What’s up fam?

I’m honored to stop by Bordering Blunt and offer some insight on the topic of leadership. I’ve held various student leadership positions since the eighth grade and its become clear that’s how I’m wired.

So what am I learning now in regards to leadership? Leaders must always be learners.

Leaders must always be learners.

Recently, in several areas of my life I was feeling pretty stagnant and almost complacent. And in some ways, I think I just expected growth to just happen. But that couldn’t be further from the truth, growth requires effort.

So if you want to grow as a leader, and all good leaders do, you’ve got to put some work in. Here are three steps to becoming a learner:

1) Discover your passions.

In what area(s) are you or would you like to be a leader? What would you do without getting paid? What makes you angry? What brings you joy?

2) Engage resources about your passions.

There are tons of resources available for free online. If you’re passionate about becoming a leader in music, hop on Spotify and listen to various artists. If you’re passionate about speaking, get on iTunes and listen to some podcasts from some of the world’s greatest public speakers.

3) READ.

I can’t stress this one enough. If you want to be a good leader, you must be well read. I love using Amazon.com, typing in a subject, and looking at what books are available.

Here are some resources to check out:

Andy Stanley Leadership Podcast

Catalyst Leader Podcast

Untitled: Thoughts on the Creative Process

Tribes: We Need You To Lead Us

Don’t be stupid. Engage your passions.

What resources do you use to engage your passions?

Leave a Reply

