Finding Ourselves in a Storm

Last week I was reading in Mark and Mark 4:35-41 gripped my heart.

If you aren’t familiar with the passage, Mark 4:35-41 is the story of Jesus calming the storm. Jesus and his disciples are on a boat, Jesus says, ‘Let us go across to the other side’ (vs. 35), a major storm comes, the disciples freak out because Jesus is sleeping, so they wake Jesus up, He calms the storm and rebukes the disciples for their lack of faith.

Here’s what the disciples said when they went to wake up Jesus, ‘Teacher, do you not care that we are perishing?’ (vs.38)

My initial reaction: Drama queens. Think about it, the disciples witnessed all of these miracles performed by Jesus and all of a sudden they believe that he was just going to let them perish?

But then it hit me, this is often my reaction to the ‘storms of life’. The Lord has proven Himself faithful to me time and time again but in the midst of whatever trial I may be facing, I doubt Him. Not only do I doubt Him but I dare to ask Him if He even cares. Its laughable in hindsight but it must also be heart breaking for the Father.

After the disciples wake Jesus up and accuse Him of not caring, He gets up and says, ‘Peace! Be still!’ And then he says to the disciples, ‘Why are you so afraid? Have you still no faith?’ (vs.40).

Where is my faith? Even when the storm winds blow…where is my faith? He has proven to me that He is who He says He is, yet I doubt Him. Have mercy, Jesus.

And here’s how the disciples respond to Jesus, ‘Who then is this that even the wind and the sea obey him?’ (vs.41)

I was slapped in the face. My storms often make me doubt who God is. And when He shows up (which He always does) I am surprised that He did.

Reading this passage made me realize that my faith is often times weak. And in the midst of the storm, I focus on it rather than the God who created me.

Why do I find myself in a storm at times? I don’t always have the answer.

But I know the God who says, ‘Peace! Be still!’

Leave a Reply

