Lent: Prayer

My prayer life has been in a rut.

I still pray but I don’t pray.

I guess what I mean by that is that I talk to God about my life, about those around me, about a lot of things. But I’ve lost that fervor for intercession and intimately communicating with God.

So I started praying and thinking about how I could give my prayer life a ‘jump start’. I’ve tried mostly everything, prayer journals, prayer lists, etc. But the answer was obvious, I just didn’t want to admit it…

Wake up at 6 am to pray.

Jon Acuff, the writer of Stuff Christians Life and Quitter, wrote a post about how to be selfish (http://www.jonacuff.com/blog/the-secret-to-be-selfish/). In the post, he talks about how the hours of 5 – 7am belong to you. Most people aren’t awake yet and you have that time to yourself. His post had to do more with writing and taking the time to dream but I decided to use that same principle when it comes to prayer.

What better way to start the day than to preemptively counteract the lies of Satan and pray over those around me?

This is definitely going to be a challenge but it’s something I need to do.

How have you ‘jump started’ your prayer life? What does your time in prayer look like?

Leave a Reply

