Lent: Sacrifice

I gave this up for Lent and if you know me, you know that’s a big deal. I’m addicted to the stuff and I have a unhealthy obsession with Starbucks. I usually can’t function properly unless I have a good cup of coffee in the morning. It’s not just the caffeine I’m addicted to but also the taste of coffee itself. No amount of tea will every compare to the taste of coffee for me.

So, it made sense for me to give up coffee for Lent (as I’ve done for the past two years). You’d think I get used to giving it up for 40 days and I would need to find something else to sacrifice…nope, coffee always does it for me. The Lenten season snuck up on me this year. I was preparing to leave for a conference in California the day before Lent but I didn’t realize that until that evening. So I had my last cup of coffee for 40 days without truly savoring it…it was a sad, sad day for this girl.

But every time I fast from something, whether that be coffee, a meal, media, etc. I begin to contemplate the true meaning of sacrifice when it comes to our walks with the Lord. For example, later this week on the blog I’ll write about my intentional focus on prayer during this season. And this intentional focus on prayer requires me to wake up early. I’m not necessarily a morning person (although, I could be one if I needed to be), so this is a bit of a struggle for me. But if you asked me to get up early for an all expense paid trip to California, I am up and ready to go with no problems.

Here’s the bottom line…I’m willing to sacrifice for things that are important to me. (Wow…that hurt to type out)

My giving up coffee is about so much more than withdrawal its about identifying my priorities. It’s about determining what I deem worthy of sacrifice.

And ultimately, for me, it’s about how much I truly value my relationship with Christ.

Leave a Reply

