This Week’s Series: Lent

Lent began on Wednesday, February 22nd and ends on April 5th.

This is my third year participating in the season of Lent. I have to be honest regarding two things:

1) The first time I decided to participate in Lent, I had no clue how long it was and did it because it just seemed like a ‘cool thing to do’.

2) This has probably been the hardest Lent season for me.

For Lent, I decided to give up a coffee and have a more intentional focus on prayer.

It’s been a little over a week and I’ve been struggling. I’m not talking about headaches from the lack of coffee in my system (although they have been awful) but I’m talking about serious spiritual warfare.

Now let me clear something up, I know spiritual warfare is always going on and I know that I am covered in the blood of Jesus. What I mean by ‘serious spiritual warfare’ is that Satan has been having a field day in my mind, attacking those thoughts and insecurities in my life that leave me emotionally unstable.

But you know what I’m learning in all of this? I need Jesus…I desperately need Him. I need His Word if I’m going to make it through a day. And I need to be in constant communication with Him. He is my power source. He is my strength. He really is my everything.

In the midst of all that is going on, I have peace. Peace in knowing that I’m on the winning team. And a peace that comes in seeing Him use every situation in my life for my good.

So this week, we are going to take a look at some of the more practical elements in participating in Lent.

Leave a Reply

