Being An Effective Mentor: Reciprocity

This is a fairly new area for me in my understanding of effective mentoring relationships.

By reciprocity, I mean that whatever I ask the individual I mentor to do, I do as well. If I challenge them to fast one meal a week, I do too. If they read three chapters in Ephesians, so do I. If they tell me one sin they’ve been struggling with that week, I tell them one sin I’ve been struggling with.

Reciprocity gets rid of an type of hierarchy mindset. The individual you mentor will view you as an equal and you won’t get a big head. Reciprocity evens the playing field and reminds both of you that the ground is level at the foot of the cross.

Leave a Reply

