Past Posts: LOVE: LESSONS FROM 1 JOHN

The other day, I just opened my Bible and ended up in the New Testament. I turned to 1 John just because I haven’t read that book in a while and as soon as I started…I realized that I wasn’t there by chance.

As I read, tears filled my eyes. The book is essentially a call to love. A call to love God and a call to love people.

My heart broke as I thought about the Church today. We do not love. Actually…let me correct myself…I do not love well.

I am supposed to be a representation to the world of a love that cannot be shaken. A love that forgives. A love that heals. A love that delivers.

Yet I’m too busy gossiping about her or thinking of all the reasons I don’t like him.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m not saying we all have to be friends. But we are a Body…you are my sisters and brothers.

I must love you. You must love me.

Leave a Reply

