The Art of Asking Questions

Something I’ve learned through years of listening to people is the importance of asking questions. I can’t be an effective listener if I’m not asking questions.

Questions like, ‘What do you mean by…?’, ‘Are you saying that…?’, ‘Can you help me understand..?’

Those questions help steer a conversation and let the listener know that you are fully engaged in the conversation. And the times I haven’t asked those questions and jumped to assumptions are the times I get myself in trouble. Those are the conversations that bring frustration, anger, and confusion.

Take the time to ask questions and have better conversations.

Leave a Reply

