It was my sin that held Him there

Those words take my breath away.

I’ve been learning a lot about my sin nature.  Specifically, my impatience and pride have reared their ugly heads more often than I would like to admit. Some where along the line I started believing that this life was about me. Doing things for others was becoming a burden rather than a privilege. I forgot what sacrifice looks like. But God is so faithful and continually pursues my heart.

I’m working with the Summer Studies students here at CU. I never thought I would learn so much this summer but I have.  These students are so much more mature than I was when I was in high school. And they have such a thirst to really know Jesus and to radically serve Him. I’ve loved talking to them and hearing them talk to one another. It seems that a theme in a lot of the times of worship we’ve had with the students has been on Jesus’ sacrifice. I’ve been bombarded with reminders of the blood He shed on the cross!

That reminder has brought me to such a beautiful humility. A beautiful realization that this life isn’t about me at all. It’s about bringing glory to my Savior.

Leave a comment