Beautifully broken

CU held a worship camp on campus this week. One of our Heartsong touring teams worked with students in order to teach them how to be effective worship leaders at their home churches.  Tonight they held a time of worship, so the students could perform what they had been practicing all week.

I learned what it meant to worship tonight from those students. They were given the opportunity to give a testimony of what the Lord has done in their life throughout the week. I watched student after student go up and just pour out their hearts. I told the Heartsong team that my favorite moment of the night was closing my eyes in worship and hearing those students weep in the presence of their Father and then opening my eyes and seeing hands and hearts extended to Him. I watched as students realized they had been forgiven of their sins, as students realized what a lifestyle of worship looked like and as students embraced the freedom they had in Christ Jesus. I was blessed as I saw them jumping up and down, yelling, kneeling, hands raised, standing in silence, sitting…I was blessed to see them worshiping in their own way.

What made the moment even more powerful for me was realizing that every person in that room had something they had to deal with; some trial or some pain. But in the midst of it all, they chose to praise God because He is worthy! Life brings its pains and troubles but God is still worthy to be praised. He is worthy because although my situation says there’s no hope, He never changes! He didn’t waste His blood on the cross…it covers me. He is the everlasting God! Regardless of how I feel or my circumstances, He remains faithful…constantly pursuing me…reminding me that I am loved and that I am His.

One thought on “Beautifully broken

  1. Thought of this while I was reading your post: “Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.” John 4:23

    I was listening to Heartsong’s CD while reading this, and it got to that part in “None But Jesus” where Brittany sings, “I am Yours and You are mine!” Wow! I had to just stop and think about that truth for a second… And then I read the end of your blog post, “I am His”. wow! WOW! What a gracious and loving God we have…so faithful…so true…He never lets go…and He’ll NEVER change!! Now THAT’S a God who is worthy of all the genuine worship in the world! Amen!

Leave a Reply

